A Hardware Management error has occurred trying to contact server XXXXXX. (Unknown error (0x8033811e))

I have faced this error titled above while I was trying to create a new template through SCVMM 2008 R2. I got this error at Jobs tab.

winrm error

I have tried several actions  in order to solve the problem like Restart the VMM service and check FW status on Hyper-V servers and Storage Server.

I check system log on SCVMM and found the below error

http error

this error give me indication for the error that the problem is related to BITS which is accordingly use port 443. By default, BITS uses port 443 to transfer files – so if you have anything using SSL or firewalls blocking the port, you’ll have issues with BITS

I have changed port 443 in registry to another port and the problem was solved accordingly and I could successfully create my template

that is what I did

  1. Open the registry of the VMM server machine
  2. Find HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Microsoft System Center Virtual Machine Manager Server\Settings
  3. Edit the BITSTcpPort to something other than 443 (I used 8050)
  4. Restart the “Virtual Machine Manager” service

Regards,

Haytham

This entry was posted in Hyper-V, SCVMM and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Hardware Management error has occurred trying to contact server XXXXXX. (Unknown error (0x8033811e))

  1. Glenn Rose-Ward says:

    Thanks Haytham that sorted the issue for me 🙂

  2. haythamalex says:

    Hi Glenn
    it is great to know that my post helped you.

  3. Derek says:

    changing the bits port in the registry fixed everything for me too. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

